Butternut Squash Success

Remember the other day when I decided to put butternut squash and almond milk in the slow cooker?

I just had to take a moment out of this pretty slow workday to tell you how amazingly delicious the result is (although it doesn’t look the part)

20131114-123524.jpg

This is one of my favorite vegan dishes I’ve ever made. It’s a nutty and cheesy pasta bake that is perfect for a cold day and lunch at the office (although I fully plan to dig in again for dinner as well).

“Cheesy” Butternut Squash Pasta

Ingredients:
1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed
2 cups almond milk
1/2 cup almond flower
1 can chickpeas
1.5 cups wholewheat pasta of any kind
salt

Directions:
Put the cubed squash and the almond milk in the slow cooker for four hours. I did this on Tuesday night and then stored the cooked mix in the fridge to be continued the next night. When you’re ready to continue, put the mix back in the slow cooker, adding the chickpeas, almond flour, salt, and pasta. Let this cook for at least two more hours. The alternative would be to do the second part in the oven by using a casserole dish, which would take less time.

Omg. This is so, so good. The squash and almond milk and flour make for an amazing cheese and nuts flavor, and the pasta absorbed so much flavor in the slow cooker. I am at my desk now, full and happy.

My fitness plan is going well, by the way. I ran 3 miles on Tuesday night. Last night, Dave and I were going to go to Kinetik for a fitness class, but then his class ended late, so we switched out yesterday’s plan with today’s. We both went for a run, but Dave was crazy enough to do it outside in 35 degree weather, while I stuck to the treadmill. Tonight is fitness class time, and I am pretty sure this lunch just gave me tons of energy for it!

Leave a comment

Filed under vegan

Leave a Reply

