Goat Cheese for the Win

Ahh, I was working away at my desk this morning, thrilled as ever about the new job situation. My new, sad challenge is to give up on coffee. My obsession with it has gotten the best of me, and I think my liver will thank me if I look for alternatives to get my work-day fixes. It’s a sad, sad resolution.

But now I have black tea! And soon, my first home-made batch of Kombucha. This one is also a sad challenge in a way – I was spending way to much money on the prepared stuff. I’ll write a post on the home-brewing process soon!

Anyways, here I was, working away, and what was nice about the absence of coffee was that I didn’t have a sudden drop in energy and a sudden huge increase in hunger once the caffeine wore off. I did supplement with two cups of black tea this morning because let’s be real, I’m going to need something, but the effects were a lot milder. My big withdrawal days were Saturday and Sunday, so the worst is behind me.

This all resulted in me not even needing a mid-morning snack. Around 11:45 a.m., I got very hungry though, so I finished up my review of online non-credit program research and got out my packed lunch.

It was goat cheese time!

20130729-115726.jpg

The spinach salad contained some quinoa (left-overs from my cooking marathon last night), halved cocktail tomatoes, balsamic vinaigrette, and tons of crumbled goat cheese. Wow, did this combo hit the spot! I could eat crumbled goat cheese every day and never get sick of it I think! Also, I think it’s funny that quinoa has not yet been adopted into Microsoft’s standard vocabulary, so my text program underlines it in red whenever I write it. Shows what a trendy, new-agey food we’re really dealing with here 😀

The banana that followed was a nice stomach-closer (not a word). Now to embark on a Monday afternoon full of meetings!

1 Comment

Filed under lunch-prep, salads

One response to “Goat Cheese for the Win

  1. Hi there, You have done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally
    recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

