Sweet Potato & Kale Gratin

I wasn’t sure how this recipe would turn out because it calls for parmesan cheese and I used Daiya Cheeze. Not that this made it a vegan dish, it was just what I had.

Image

Non-vegan ingredients were heavy whipping cream and whole milk, which I still had left over from Sunday’s Turkish dinner extravaganza.

Image

I mixed the cream and milk with nutmeg, salt, and pepper. I love nutmeg. When I went to college in Germany, I always made mashed potatoes from scratch with tons of nutmeg. Yum.

Image

Turns out, the nutmeg was a hero in this one also, and the Daiya Cheeze and dairy products were totally compatible. It was absolutely delicious and I was only sad that I had to stick to a small portion because of the heavy ingredients.

More for lunch tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under low carb

Leave a Reply

