Sweet Potato & Quinoa Salmon Cakes Vol. 2

Dave had class tonight, so I got a little over an hour for some full-power mid-week cooking and cleaning. I danced in the kitchen to a strange mix of music on Spotify – from 90s to high school classics to German pop.

I gave these salmon sweet potato & quinoa cakes another attempt – this time, I remembered to put the eggs into the mix instead of having to put them on top fried.

Image

After cooking a medium sweet potato and half a cup of quinoa, I mixed them with 6 oz. of wild Pacific salmon, half a chopped onion, salt, pepper, and 2 tablespoons of cornmeal.

Image

Then I seared them in olive oil for about 4 minutes per side.

Image

They held together a little less well than last time, despite the eggs! I think that’s because I didn’t cook the sweet potato for long enough. It was less doughy and sticky than last time.

Image

Deliciousness. If you make this, make sure to add enough salt and pepper. Also, I think it would be even better with green onion than just with regular onion. Yes, now that I think of it, definitely use green onions or scallions.

Six cakes meant we have leftovers for lunch. Yay!

2 Comments

Filed under dairy-free, gluten-free, lunch-prep, recipes, seafood

2 responses to “Sweet Potato & Quinoa Salmon Cakes Vol. 2

  1. Yum! I tried making steamed fishcakes a few weeks ago…and they completely fell apart. More like a pile of mashed fish and sweet potatoes. Maybe I’ll give yours a try! Thanks for sharing!

    • Suzan

      I think the sweet potato, egg, and corn meal really help holding these together. Let me know how it goes if you try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

