Vegan Curry

I’ve had a mean migraine for the past 36 hours, so I stayed at home today and am feeling pooped.

My mom had really severe migraines before she hit menopause, and she took strong medication for them. I remember her being knocked out for a good three days a month when I was growing up. For the past two years or so, it’s been about a day a month for me. Mine aren’t quite as severe as hers, so it could be that I inherited them from my paternal grandmother, too. Anyways, I don’t want to just take medication all my life and accept living with headaches that frequently.

Part of why I want to eat a mostly plant-based, semi-vegan diet is that it helps me feel better and seems to help me with migraines, For example, last month, I didn’t have anything, which I considered a huge success. I think drinking tons of water, doing yoga, and running are also all really helpful habits. Finally, I started working with a homeopath in February to address hormonal imbalances through plant-based remedies, which should also affect my migraines. I repeated my base-remedy two days ago, so that could have something to do with this particular migraine, just because the remedy may make the symptom resurface in order to address the cause.

Anyway, last night, I made my own curry for the first time. It was much simpler than I thought!

Image

Ingredients:

– 1 cup of brown rice
– 1 small onion
– 2 garlic cloves
– 1/4 cup red pepper flakes
– 1 tsp. cumin
– vegetables like broccoli, carrots, and red peppers
– 1 can coconut milk
– 2 tbsp. curry powder
– 4 cups of kale
– salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook the rice, either on the stove top or in the rice cooker.

Dice the onions and fry them in olive oil or coconut oil until they are slightly browned. Add the garlic, the pepper flakes, and the cumin. Then add the vegetables in the order of how long it will take them to cook – broccoli and carrots first, carrots later. It may help to cover the pan at this time.

Once all the vegetables have been added, pour in the can of coconut milk and stir in the curry powder.

Image

Add the kale and cover the pan. Let it simmer for 10 minutes.

Image

Add the salt and pepper and serve it all on top of the rice.

Image

Very yummy. I made some extra rice, so we’d have enough for lunches today as well.

Since I was home sick, Dave took the bus home for lunch and kept me company for a few hours. We only have one car, so he always takes the bus. It helps make up for the excessive driving my commute requires.

I’m thinking about trying to work out later to see if that might help with my headache. Does anyone have experience with migraines? Does exercise help with yours?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

