Back to Basics

This week has been one of the most demanding in terms of work in a long time. A lot of it is self-imposed because I am trying to work on my freelancing and consulting portfolio outside of my regular Woolrich marketing job hours.

Between driving an hour each way to and from work, meetings and presentations for freelancing projects, and a few social events, it became clear fast that this week wouldn’t be one for making cooking and exercise priorities.

Dave noticed this too, and picked up my slack, of course. He sticks to basics way more than I do when it comes to lunch prep, which is probably a good thing because it keeps him sane when he has to focus on getting out the door on time in the morning.

Image

For the last two days, I was reacquainted with an old friend: the PB&J in my lunch box. Not too shabby, actually. Except for the heavy-weighing gluten in my stomach, but that seems like a small price to pay for having lunch prep taken off my plate on a crazy day.

This morning, my day threatened to get even crazier when we got a call in our department to alert us that my Jeep had a flat tire. My co-worker/friend and I went to the lot to check it out – she had a tire gage and I am a 1.5/10 when it comes to car or mechanical know-how. The tire looked pretty bad, and we noticed a piece of metal sticking out on the side. When we leaned closer, we could actually hear the air leaving the tire, so I knew we’d have to do something asap instead of risk having to drive it to a repair place on the rim.

We went inside to call a few places and see if they could fit me in, but then learned through other co-workers that a customer service employee is married to the head of maintenance, and that she might be able to get them to help us. We went over to her and sure enough, she called her husband and hooked us up.

We drove down to the garage, where three maintenance guys were already waiting for us. Who knew Woolrich had a full-blown vehicle maintenance site for company vehicles?

Image

I called Dave and wasn’t surprised to hear that we have a full spare in the back. The guys were beyond thrilled when they learned of this fact. Dave also told me that I could just call AAA, but by then I had worked out the on-site deal.

Image

Not only did they put on the spare for me, they also fixed the old tire. They were really intrigued by my Oregon license plates and seemed to enjoy having us admire their mad skills.

Image

Less than 20 minutes and we were all set! We still had time to grab coffee at the village cafe. I was so grateful I didn’t have to spend my afternoon waiting around at some car repair place in Lock Haven. Or coordinating with AAA. Plus it’s always great to meet new people at the company!

Leave a comment

Filed under lunch-prep

Leave a Reply

