5 am Madness

Okay, I think my half marathon training is turning me into a crazy person slowly but surely. Usually, no matter how naively I announce that I’ll get up in the morning to run or do any other thing beyond shower, have breakfast, and stumble out the door, I fail. My alarm rings at some ungodly hour, I have a brief negotiation with myself (brain: “get up, you said you’d go run.” Subconscious: ” F off, you’re crazy.” Brain: “Ok, good night.”), and I snooze until the very last possible minute (or often also until an impossible minute).

Today, none of that happened. My alarm rang at 4:30 a.m. Yes. Half past four. I sat up in bed, checked my email (my usual dysfunctional wake-up ritual), washed my face, brushed my teeth, changed into running clothes, and headed out the door straight to the work-out room and the treadmill…. where I then spent the next hour running five miles on an empty stomach, which was much harder than running at night after a full day of hydrating and calorie-infusions.

Make of this what you will. Maybe you think, “What’s the big deal, I do that all the time.” In which case, please tell me it gets easier.

All I can make of it is: I’ve lost my mind.

I was sleepy all day, but also weirded out by myself and a little proud at the same time.

After work, I went to girl’s night at an amazing one-stop-shop Asian buffet.

Image

I swear, they had everything. From soup to salad to habachi to meat and poatoes to every imaginable sushi roll on the planet.

Image

Mango rolls. So delicious. I had to skip desert only because I was too full. I should have planned better for this event!

Image

After dinner, my friend and I met Dave and her husband at our neighborhood bar. I had cabernet.

When we got home around 9:45 p.m., I was ready to pass out. I wonder when I’ll be crazy enough to run at 5 in the morning next. Definitely not in the foreseeable future.

2 Comments

March 20, 2013 · 11:17 pm

2 responses to “5 am Madness

  1. Respekt, my dear! 😉 Das würde ich nicht schaffen – abgesehen davon, dass ich es nicht mal PLANEN würde. Hehe

  2. Pingback: Leisure-Time Marathon |

Leave a Reply

