Vegan “Cheesy” Penne and Impromptu Cooking Party

Crazy happenings in the kitchen tonight. We have plans every night for the next four days, so it occurred to me that I should probably pre-cook our dinners.

I did a quick 15-minute Yoga video when I came home from work and then went crazy: one hour of cooking madness. I made three dinners plus our lunches. And listened to Turkish music the entire time, which made for quite the party.

I made two dishes I’d made before:

Image

Quinoa with Kale, hummus sauce, and scrambled eggs.

Image

Sweet Potato and Quinoa Salad with apples, cranberries, and toasted almonds.

But tonight’s dinner and Thursday’s lunch was a first-time recipe. Vegan “cheesy” penne.

I found it here and modified it quite a bit.

Image

Instead of macaroni, I used penne.

Image

I left the “cheese” sauce the same except for omitting some of the spices because I didn’t have them around. Everything went straight into the blender – water, almond milk, nutritional yeast, cornstarch, lemon juice, tahini, and spices.

Image

And finally, I took the liberty of adding onions, mushrooms, and spinach to add some more texture and brighten up the presentation.

Image

I added the penne, poured the cheese on top, and let it simmer in the pan for a few minutes while stirring constantly.

Image

Paired it with a German Franziskaner Weissbier and dinner was done.

The “cheese” was very creamy and much more cheese-like than I expected. I’m a fan.

Dave has been cleaning up the kitchen for about half an hour now. I tried to clean up as I went, but I was multitasking so much already that it was hard to do.

I’ve imposed an early bed time because these kitchen adventures left no time for my six-mile run. I’ll now have to get up eeeearly, but maybe that’s not such a bad thing because I’m usually still half asleep when I head out the door.

1 Comment

Filed under dairy-free, drinks with dinner, German, recipes, running, vegan, yoga

One response to “Vegan “Cheesy” Penne and Impromptu Cooking Party

  1. Pingback: Busy Foods |

Leave a Reply

