Vegan “Chicken” Salad

I had my first cooking adventure with tempeh tonight, based on this recipe for “chic chick salad.”

Image

I started by cubing the tempeh. Unlike with tofu, there is no pressing required.

Next, I was supposed to steam it. But the amateur cooks that we are, we don’t have a steamer basket. Dave suggested improvising with the top of the rice cooker.

Image

It turned out to be a pretty brilliant suggestion. I later used it again to steam the broccoli.

Image

Once the steaming was complete, I stirred the tempeh into the mix of apples, carrots, dried cranberries, onions, and almonds. Then, I added the veganaise/vinegar/berry preserve/lemon juice dressing.

Image

I placed the mixture on a bed of lettuce, steamed broccoli, and baby beets. The dressing in particular made this dinner delicious. I also really loved the apple/cranberry/tempeh combo.

After dinner, I made our lunches for tomorrow. The tempeh salad will get another chance to shine then.

Image

Looking forward to these “chicken salad” sandwiches!

3 Comments

Filed under dairy-free, gluten-free, low carb, recipes, salads, vegan

3 responses to “Vegan “Chicken” Salad

  1. Valerie

    I’ve yet to try tempeh, but you’ve inspired me! How’d you know it was done, in the ‘steamer’? Did you test it’s texture?

    • Oh yay! I hope you like it. The recipe suggested that I steam it 15-20 minutes, so that’s what I went with. But since I don’t usually steam things, I looked into it a bit, and it seems that it’s optional with tempeh because it’s not cooking it or anything. Instead, it takes some of the bitterness out of the flavor and makes it a bit softer. Let me know how yours turns out!

Leave a Reply

