Smoked Salmon Bagels

Breakfast is and always has been my favorite meal of the day. Growing up, I always loved the elaborate spread my family put out on Saturday and Sunday mornings.

It’s hard (read: impossible) to produce a big feast on weekdays, but Dave and I definitely try to have something we really enjoy for breakfast on weekend days when we have the time.

My all-time favorite right now might be bagels with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on the side. We haven’t made this in a while, but I planned it in as an easy and delicious meal for today. I did my 15 minutes of yoga while Dave prepared everything. He was excited to have me try his new scrambled eggs creation.

Image

Don’t let the small serving of eggs fool you – I had seconds. He scrambled eggs, almond milk, green onions, goat cheese, and a few dashes of Trader Joe’s hot sauce. I was beyond impressed! He seriously could make this for some sort of gourmet breakfast place. I get hungry just remembering it right now.

The salmon was premium smoked salmon from Scotland and the bagels fresh from the Wegman’s bakery. So delicious.

Here is the thing though. I always used to have this creation with cream cheese. Since I’m trying to phase out dairy and avoid it whenever I can, I opted for Earth Balance this time.

Image

For those of you who don’t know, this is a vegan, soy-based buttery spread. This is the first jar I’ve ever bought of it and the first time I’ve knowingly tried it. For those of you who do know it, what are your thoughts and what do you mostly use it for? Is it a butter substitute than can be used across the board or just for very specific things?

I spread a pretty thin layer on my bagel before adding the smoked salmon.

Image

It definitely helped make it less dry, but was, of course, way less creamy than the cream cheese. I think I need to try it again with a thicker layer. Good thing tomorrow is another weekend day!

Leave a comment

Filed under dairy-free, seafood, yoga

Leave a Reply

