Bad Choices

I got home tonight after working and a homeopathy appointment, and all I wanted to do is sit on the couch, eat spinach salad, and have hot almond milk with cocoa powder.

But when I walked in, I realized Dave wasn’t in the best of moods. He didn’t feel like he had a productive day and needed a pick-me-up. He also said he was starving. So I told him we could do whatever it would take to make him feel better.

After looking over all the super healthy food options we had, he decided we’d have dinner out. Fair enough, I thought. We ended up at The Deli in downtown State College. I figured I’d have a salad, but then I saw the list of pasta specials, and my stomach started begging for some carbs. I decided to give in because I want to do a fast run at lunch tomorrow and could use the energy.

Image

I started working on this large portion of seafood pasta and garlic bread, figuring I’d eat half and take the other half to work. But my stomach didn’t seem to want to get full.

Dave had some sort of meat sub, but it didn’t come with a side, and he, too, was still hungry. He suggested going to the Creamery, which is an ice cream place operated by the Penn State school of agriculture. But due to spring break, it was closed. So, by some crazy turn of events, we ended up at Cold Stone.

I used to be obsessed with Cold Stone. Obsessed. That was in the early days of living in the U.S., when I thought waiters that sing to you are funny and oversized portions something to write home about. Now, I never even think about going there, but somehow it happened anyway.

I decided I wasn’t going to get my own serving, but have some of Dave’s instead. But then he ordered black velvet with toppings that didn’t appeal to me at all, so I decided to get my own: Cookie Dough’nt you want some….

Image

Man. For how much I used to love their creations (I always got the biggest size and could finish faster than anyone else), this was just a disgusting, sad experience. The entire time, I was reflecting on the poison I was feeding my body. But I hate wasting food, so somehow I almost finished the entire thing. Yuck. My stomach instantly started hurting.

Dave really liked his, and his spirits seemed lifted when we got home. So I guess that’s good. But I really have issues with using junk food for comfort. I’ve done it so many times in my life, and I just never want fall into that habit again. I myself was tired and beat. I’m still paying for that exhausting cooking class on Monday night. But I could think of so many better ways to help myself with that: a spinach salad, lots of tea, Yoga, a hot bath….

I guess this will just have to serve as a reminder for me not to rely on impulse choices when I’m tired. It’s not like Dave made me eat the ice cream – I chose my orders all by myself. But it’s so easy to think that, after a long day, we deserve a treat – and that such a treat should consist of unhealthy food. When what this treat really becomes is punishment for our bodies, and we end up paying for it for days.

I am ready to go to bed and see this as a learning experience. There is lots of water in my future tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under deserts, eating out

Leave a Reply

