Seafood Extravaganza

So, apparently, when I said I was nervous about today’s ten-mile run, I wasn’t kidding. I woke up when the alarm clock rang at 8 a.m. and started feverishly preparing for my take-off that was planned for 10. My preparations included a timed breakfast of oatmeal with a fried egg, several glasses of water, and a package of Gu 15 minutes before (plus 2 in my pocket for the road). I also spent a good hour revising my playlist while fueling.

10 miles later, I returned home proud to have made it, but completely beat. The State College hills and mean winds when was already only 27 degrees wore out my legs and lungs. I took a bath, ate, watched Netflix in bed, and snacked on various protein-filled treats.

A few hours later, I rejuvenated myself with a Starbucks soy latte and headed to my first Turkish tutoring session. I’ve been trying to teach myself that crazy language for about a decade, and Rosetta Stone can only go so far. So I hired a really nice Turkish/German PhD student, who will be explaining grammar and practice with me every Saturday afternoon. It was really fun and I think she’ll be able to really help me understand some of the cryptic grammar rules.

After a quick Trader Joe’s run, I returned home and Dave and I went out to dinner. We went back to the same place we had drinks at yesterday. I was starving and we decided to order just appetizers and smaller plates, so we could try several things.

Image

We started out with pitas and hummus in tomato sauce on the house. My drink was the Pinot Grigio on special. It was crisp and not as full-bodied as I would have liked, but it went well with the seafood.

Image

This amazing creation was on the appetizer menu. Bruschetta with salmon. I want to learn how to arrange the tomato and mozzarella like that! It was absolutely delicious. It required a serious mental effort to offer Dave a third of the plate.

Image

Scallop trio with arugula, sweet potato paste, and a vegetable I don’t remember the name of.

Image

Spinach crab dip with naan bread.

Dave also had a small Ceasar salad and some beef sliders.

We initially were seated at a small table, but then we ordered so much food that they had to move us to a booth. Way to make ourselves memorable.

Leave a comment

Filed under drinks with dinner, eating out, running, seafood

Leave a Reply

