Spinach Salad with Goat Cheese & Dried Cranberries

I am in a goat cheese phase. Which is weird because I detest blue cheese and only like really mild versions of feta. Most people think the feta thing is pathetic because I’m Turkish. They are right, and it’s not just feta, but olives too.

Anyway, the goat cheese. Yum. Especially with dried cranberries. So, naturally, I moved the thing on the dinner menu that contained both up to early in the week.

But first, when I got home, I made a strange choice. I was starving and decided to go for… a spoon of raw honey. That’s definitely never happened before, but it kind of did the trick.

Image

I got this from Nature’s Marketplace at Wegmans. It’s kind of naive that I think if I buy something from there it automatically must be super good for me. Pure, raw, and wild surely must mean superior to standard honey, right? But my ignorance aside, I actually think honey is a product where this really matters.

On to dinner.

Spinach Salad with Chickpeas, Goat Cheese, and Dried Cranberries

Ingredients:

  •  One bag of baby spinach
  • One container of goat cheese
  • One can of chickpeas
  • Half a box of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2/3 cup of dried cranberries
  • Extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Image

I used the Trader Joe’s baby spinach. It’s one of the things Trader Joe’s sells for way less than other stores.

Image

Such freshness.

Image

I mixed in the dressings to taste with just the spinach in the bowl. I didn’t want the goat cheese to absorb balsamic vinegar – yuck.

Image

Then I added all the other ingredients. The entire container of goat cheese was last. I was going for a dominant goat cheese taste here, so feel free to adjust the amount.

Image

And this is me taking our plates back for seconds. After that, the leftovers were enough for my lunch tomorrow. Dave always goes out to lunch with colleagues on Wednesdays.

Now I’m sad that I most likely won’t be having goat cheese again until next week.

Also, quick running update: I stuck to the elliptical today during my lunch workout because my legs are a little achy. I figure better take a day off than pay with a stress fracture. I’ve been doing plenty of Yoga too, so hopefully I’ll be able to do four miles on Thursday with no problem.

1 Comment

Filed under gluten-free, low carb, recipes, running, salads, yoga

One response to “Spinach Salad with Goat Cheese & Dried Cranberries

  1. Pingback: Busy Foods |

Leave a Reply

