Vegan Loaded Sweet Potatoes

I was really productive at work today. Maybe that’s because of the double-dose of caffeine I had this morning.

First, my one co-worker brought me a coffee from the Woolrich village cafe.

Image

And less than an hour later, my other co-worker called and said she’d bring in Starbucks. My day was made.

Image

Me posing with my chai vanilla latte. Pretty much the only time I ever make an exception for milk.

I should also mention that I had my favorite breakfast today, although that was several hours before the caffeine overdose.

Image

Oatmeal with an egg fried in coconut oil, topped with nutritional yeast and avocado. Plus a smoothie with 1 cup of frozen berries, 1/2 cup of oatmeal, 1 cup of almond milk, and some Amazing Grass powder.

For lunch, I had Creamy Quinoa with Kale leftovers and an apple with almond butter.

Image

When I got home, I went for a 3-mile run. It was not icy and snowy like on Tuesday, but it was about 24 degrees, 8 degrees colder than on Tuesday. I didn’t even really sweat because it was so cold. But the run was good and I feel like I’m getting faster and stronger with each one. Except for my poor knees, which I had to ice when I got back.

Ok, now that that’s all out of the way, we can get to the actual recipe, which gave this post its title: Vegan Loaded Sweet Potatoes! Yes, I’m actually posting something that’s really vegan, finally! I would love to eventually be completely vegan, but I think the road to that place is going to be long.

Anyway, here we go:

Vegan Loaded Sweet Potatoes (serves 2 for dinner and lunch the next day)

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium-sized sweet potatoes or yams
  • 1 can black beans
  • 4 small tomatoes (I used organic ones), chopped
  • olive oil
  • cumin
  • coriander
  • salt and pepper
  • fresh cilantro
  • veganaise (or sour cream, if you don’t mind dairy)

Directions:

Place the sweet potatoes in a pan and fill it with water, so that all four potatoes are covered. Bring to a boil, then turn down to medium heat and cook for 30 minutes (can be less if you don’t like them as soft). Meanwhile, in some olive oil, heat up the black beans and chopped tomatoes and add coriander, cumin, salt, and pepper.

Image

When the sweet potatoes are done, slice them each in half lengthwise. With a slotted spoon, top the sweet potatoes with the beans and tomatoes. Then add veganaise and cilantro on top and serve immediately.

Image

My nutritious and delicious post-run dinner.

This is one of Dave’s favorite meals, so he had a larger portion…

Image

And I still have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. But I will take the chance and pack those in the morning. Sleepy time.

Leave a comment

Filed under dairy-free, gluten-free, low carb, recipes, running, vegan

Leave a Reply

