From Snooze to Scramble

Ever since I can remember, I have hated getting up in the morning. During high school, my mom had to come into my room every day and yell at me for hitting the snooze button over and over again. In college, I was regularly five minutes late for my 8 a.m. classes. Since grad school, I’ve been a little better – teaching or work meetings at 8 a.m. got me out of bed, and carpooling does the trick now. But except for the occasional over-achieving mornings when I work out at 5 a.m. and am ready to go 15 minutes early, I still don’t love to comply with my alarm clock.

Today was no different. 5:30 came, I hit snooze several times, and I didn’t get out of bed until 6:06. A bit late considering my carpooling friend was picking me up at 6:50. So there I was in scramble mode – I showered, had breakfast (apple oatmeal muffin and smoothie again), and somehow still managed to prepare our work foods.

Image

Mine contained a cultured coconut milk yogurt, sesame covered peanuts, lentil soup, apple slices with almond butter, and a banana. Dave’s is distributed between the two brown-bags there in the background because his lunch box zipper broke yesterday. He is now talking about replacing it with a Star Trek themed one – go figure.

Work was pretty uneventful. I was still tired although I slept a bit more last night than the night before. My lunch workout was an easy one – I walked on an incline for 30 minutes and read the newest edition of my favorite German news magazine Der Spiegel on my iPhone.

I was out of food by 3 p.m., but needed a little pick-me-up before the meeting we had scheduled. I found some gourmet hot chocolate powder in the break room, so I made hot cocoa with almond milk.

Image

Dinner tonight was a little bit of an experiment. I didn’t feel like having our usual combo of shrimp, veggies, rice, and curry sauce. White rice is so full of sugar. So I decided to use eggs and see how we like it.

Here are just the veggies, baby spinach leaves, and shrimp cooking in coconut oil.

Image

When all that had cooked through, I added some nutritional yeast and scrambled in four eggs.

Image

And finally, the curry sauce to finish it all. It was actually really delicious and satisfying. And I’d rather have eggs than rice any day, although if you’d want to, you could mix in both for a more filling, carb-heavy meal (not a bad idea on a night before a long run, I guess).

Image

So today literally went from snooze to scramble.

Leave a comment

Filed under dairy-free, gluten-free, low carb, recipes

Leave a Reply

