Steak Salad with Crumbled Blue Cheese

Mondays always go by faster than any other workday for me. Maybe that’s because I’m energized from the weekend, more motivated than later in the week, or just because we tend to schedule meetings on Mondays.

Today, I had four meetings. Plus, we’re launching our spring line this week, so things are a little crazy. I only got 6.5 hours of sleep last night, so I knew I would be drained by 5 p.m. Usually, I go to the gym over lunch, but I didn’t have time today as more and more stuff was piling up on my desk.

So, I was grateful for the quality breakfast I had for some good energy. I started with one of the gluten-free apple oatmeal muffins I made yesterday (yum!) and then made a “green” smoothie to split with Dave.

Image

The Amazing Grass Green Superfood was a recommendation from my homeopath. It’s chocolate flavored and can be mixed with just water, almond milk, or anything else you want. I find it tastes great in a smoothie with 1 cup almond milk, half a cup of oats, some honey, and 1 cup of frozen berries.

At work, I snacked on cultured coconut milk yogurt, sesame coated peanuts, quinoa salad, and apple slices with almond butter. I also had two pieces of Dove chocolate (from my friend’s Valentine’s Day bag for me) and a coconut water.

When I got home, I was tired as expected. It was definitely harder than usual to get in the kitchen and make a healthy meal. I decided to make a steak salad that I found a recipe for a few days ago and then modified slightly.

Image

Steak Salad with Crumbled Blue Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb steak
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 bag romaine lettuce
  • 3/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
  • sliced carrot
  • green bell pepper
  • sliced onion
  • 1/4 cup green olives

Directions:

Mix the oils, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper in a small bowl and then stir in blue cheese. Place the torn-up lettuce on plates and add onion, peppers, carrots, and sliced olives, then add bite-sized pieces of steak and cover with the dressing and cheese.

Dave said he really wanted a steak salad, so I threw out our usual rule of not buying meat. I try to stay away from meat and dairy as much as I can (due to ethical and health reasons that are pretty well summed up by the movie Forks over Knives). I do love fish and eggs though, so I’m definitely not trying to be vegan, nor do I care to label my diet. But steak salad was the one thing Dave thought of when I asked him what he’d like me to put on the weekly menu, so making an exception seemed justifiable.

He really loved the salad and finished both his own plate and the rest of mine after I was done eating. The blue cheese was a little too strong for me and I prefer spinach over romaine lettuce. To make up for it, I had some green tea coconut milk ice cream and chocolate covered ginger for desert. I also had a small glass of white wine.

After dinner and three episodes of The Mindy Project, I am still pretty beat. I guess my cooking marathon of the weekend along with the exercise and fun activities is catching up with me in addition to the intense work day. I think I’ll do a little bit of Yoga while Dave does the dishes and then go to bed early to rest up for what promises to be a busy Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under gluten-free, low carb, recipes, salads

Leave a Reply

