Running Fuel

In early January, I signed up for the Rumspringa Half Marathon in Lancaster County, PA because I knew I needed a goal in order to commit to running again. Now, about a month later, I’m slowly but surely starting to get serious about training. The more miles I start logging on a weekly basis, the more I become aware of how much food matters before and after each run. This weekend, I tried to be prepared and ready.

Breakfast this morning consisted of egg and veggie burritos.

Image

I more and more think that Dave is gluten intolerant, and I like to try and avoid it myself because it weights heavily in my stomach. So last night, we decided that he should do a gluten-free week to see how it makes him feel. I haven’t gone grocery shopping since this decision, but I had these Food for Life brown rice gluten-free tortillas in the freezer.

I heated up some frozen vegetables, added nutritional yeast to them, fried eggs in coconut oil, and loaded it all on the tortilla. Voila – breakfast served. The tortillas are a little hard to wrap because of the rice flour. I initially tried to cut them like a European would cut a pizza, but ended up wrapping it after all. Pretty delicious and perfect pre-run fuel!

I spent the time I needed to digest making these gluten-free apple oatmeal muffins.

Image

I actually haven’t tried them yet, but Dave thought they were delicious.  This was the first of two he ate as a second breakfast.

Image

Gluten-Free Apple Oatmeal Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 apples, diced in small pieces
  • 2 tbs sugar (to coat apples)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (1/2 coat apples, ½ in flour mix)
  • 3 cups oats
  • ½ cup coconut flour
  • ¼ oat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp Kosher salt
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ c oil
  • ⅔ cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup brown sugar

Directions:

Coat the apples in sugar and cinnamon, then set aside. Mix all the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients separately, then mix them together and add the apples last (I used my hands because the batter got really thick). Fill 12 lined muffin forms with the batter, sprinkle some dried, shredded, unsweetened coconut on top, and bake for 25ish minutes.

Like I said, I haven’t tried them, but they are very moist and Dave ate two, so that’s saying something! I’ll have them for breakfast this week with an egg or something because I like to eat carbs and sugar earlier in the day.

After about two hours of digesting the egg burrito, I had a hard boiled egg for immediate fuel, stretched, and headed out for my run. Today, I tried to really focus on how I roll my feet, taking care to land on my heel and roll off to the toes in order to avoid soreness and shin splints. The run overall was great, but I had to stop at one point to use the bathroom at a grocery store. This little break gave me some extra energy, so I ran past the five miles for another five minutes or so and finished in a sprint. I’m a really slow runner, so the 5.5 miles took me about an hour (I would know more precisely if I hadn’t stopped for the bathroom).

When I got back, I stretched, iced my legs, took a shower, and then Dave and I headed out for a late lunch at our favorite Thai restaurant and working at the State College library. I really like the library because you can get window tables with a nice view and it’s much quieter than in coffee shops.

I went to Trader Joe’s after dropping Dave off at home, stocked up on groceries for the week, and spent the night with work food prep and watching Kourtney and Kim Take Miami – yup, the classiest of classy TV shows for sure….

3 Comments

Filed under dairy-free, gluten-free, low carb, recipes, running

3 responses to “Running Fuel

  1. Pingback: Steak Salad with Crumbled Blue Cheese « Suzan Loves Food

  2. Pingback: From Snooze to Scramble «

  3. Pingback: Vegan Loaded Sweet Potatoes «

Leave a Reply

